DEAR: Current-But-Soon-To-Be-Ex-Boyfriened

I don’t know where to begin.  All I know, is that I’m not happy.  I want to be happy with you.  I want to make this work.  But right now, it just isn’t.

It really has very little to do with you.  While you have flaws, we all do, and that’s okay.  The thing is, it’s really too much too soon.  I need more time to grow; more time to understand, process and heal from my divorce and learn to be on my own.  I know you don’t understand this.  I know you can’t comprehend why I can’t do all this while still being with you.  I don’t have an answer for you.  I just can’t. 
I know part of why you can’t understand is because you have done everything right.  I know you have.  You have done more for me than many other men I’ve seen combined.  I wish I could just put everything with you on hold and have you come back in a year.  However, that’s also not right and that is selfish of me.  I know this is hurting you, and is going to be hard. 

The last thing I ever wanted was to hurt you.  You just aren’t right for me.  Not now. Maybe not ever.  I don’t know.  I have a lot I have to straighten out first.  And I have a lot to experience before I can settle down the way you want me to.  What I need right now does not align with what you want.  I cannot give up as much of the social life or parties as you want. I cannot become the mature homebody you want.  I know you will do anything for me-including going out- but if that’s not you, it’s not you. You can’t be someone you are not.  And that goes for both of us.

Only time will tell.  For now, I have no choice but to ask us to go our separate ways…

Leave a Reply

